The answers on are based on the research of Ikram Hawramani in the Quran, hadith, scholarly works and respected fatwa sources. You can view Ikram Hawramani's credentials on the about page. Please note that we do not issue fatwas, we only compile the opinions of respected scholars (even when a fatwa is not explicitly cited) to make their opinions accessible to English-speaking Muslims. If an answer does not cite fatwas, please feel free to leave a comment asking for a fatwa citation and we will update the answer as soon as possible to include fatwas.

IslamQA: Do Jews believe in the same God as Muslims?

Does the jewish people believe in the same god as muslim? and where does it ever written that muslim can also eat kosher food?

Jews believe in the same God as Muslims, although they associate some ideas with Him that we consider incorrect. God says in the Hebrew Bible that He is “married to Israel”, so they believe Jews are almost a separate species with a special relationship with God. 

The Quran says the food of the People of the Book (Jews and Christians) is halal to Muslims (verse 5:5). But since Christians do not follow Biblical laws on food, today this only applies to Jews. Jews mention God’s name before slaughtering an animal like Islam requires and consider pork and blood forbidden similar to Muslims, so anything certified kosher is halal (except alcohol).

And God knows best.
Asking questions is temporarily unavailable. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Learn Quranic Arabic with my book!
Available in both paperback and Kindle formats.
Commenting rules: Politeness is the only rule. We respect your right to disagree with anything we say. But comments with profanity and insults will be deleted.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments